Have You Been Writing?

“Have you been writing?”

I’ve been asked this a few times in the last couple of days.  The answer, no.  I’m not entirely sure why.  Perhaps I am too busy.  Perhaps I don’t have anything to say.  Perhaps I am an expert procrastinator who can find 30 other things that must get done before I sit to write.  Yes, I think that’s the one!

A lot has happened since I last wrote.  I went on an amazing vacation that opened my eyes and that changed my perception of life, of me.  Close friends and relatives reached beautiful life milestones that warmed my heart.  I developed a new appreciation for everything around me, for each person I meet, for each day that I live, whether eventful or not on the surface, every day has meaning.

Every day is an opportunity to experience, to grow, to learn.  I’ve known this for a while but have now accepted it whole-heartedly.  Every day is a gift and I must treat it as such.

With that being said, I still have many less than perfect days where things don’t seem to go as planned and emotions fly high.

It is natural to have amazing days followed by grueling days where exhaustion takes over and doing nothing means everything.  That’s ok.  The key is developing the ability to emerge from those days bright-eyed and bushy-tailed and ready to embrace the morning light.  I think I have developed that ability.  I’ve realized that sometimes those lazy days are necessary in helping to refuel me for the next; a little downtime is good every now and again.

We all need time to recharge, time to do nothing, time to reflect, time to rest, time to sleep, time to breathe.  Some people just need more of this time than others.

Leave a Reply

