The Generational Gap: Crap, I’m Getting Old!

 

Somedays I feel so blah.  I’ve sat here for a good 10 minutes now with my Mac on my lap staring at the screen trying to find motivation, inspiration; something, ANYTHING!  Instead, I found nothing, I felt nothing.  I am bored.  I feel blah.

I can’t begin to imagine what I would have done with this amazing machine when I was younger.  If I had been given this world at my fingertips 20 years ago, I wouldn’t have taken it for granted as I seem to be doing now.  I would have been glued to it from morning to night.  I would have created so much with it.  This technology is amazing.  It can take me anywhere.  It can teach me anything, and yet at this moment I have nothing to show for it.  How sad.

I remember discussing this with a lovely young lady last year.  I began telling her how unbelievably lucky she is to have all this technology available to her; literally knowledge at her fingertips at any time of the day.

I told her it was much more difficult “back in my day” when researching for school assignments and projects when we had to read through countless books to acquire and compile information.  She proceeded to ask, “So did like everyone go to the library?”, to which I responded as my palm met my face, “Umm, yes!”

When I continued to say we had to read Encyclopedias, she asked, “Encyclo…what?”

“Like Wikipedia, only the real deal”.  I answered in shock.

How is it possible that this person who is only 15 years my junior has no clue what an Encyclopedia is?  And then boom, it hit me.  There are so many things in her day to day life to which I am completely oblivious.  Like the one time she said my house was “so Tumblr”.  Is that a compliment?

I realize that whether I believe it or not, I am old.  At least I am to her and to her generation.  I am a thing of the past, a relic just trying to figure out if my eyebrows are on fleek.  Do I even want them to be?

This generational gap is much more evident than I previously thought.

My eyes are slowly starting to close and I realize perhaps it’s time for bed.  After all, it is 10:09pm.  Isn’t that where most 30 somethings can be found at this time?

Leave a Reply

