Gloomy Skies, Gloomy Soul

I awake in the morning and the absence of light peaking through the blinds confirms the forecast was right, gloomy skies await.  I haven’t even gotten out of bed yet and already I can feel the dark cloud hovering over me.  I grudgingly sit up and rest my feet on the hardwood floor. Sigh.

I know the sun can’t always shine brightly and that our crops were thirsting for this rain, but I am really missing that bright blue sky.

It is interesting just how much the weather can affect our moods and our outlook.  Why is that?  I suppose it is because we are a product of our environment.  Our attitudes can easily  be affected by what surrounds us.

We are figurative sponges soaking up everything in our paths, whether intentional or not, our ability to absorb is inevitable.

This is a wonderful thing, when the weather is beautiful and the people around us are happy and positive but what about on days like today?

When I got to work today I had to fight the wind while walking to the building as it blew my hair violently across my face.  My office was dark, opening the blinds didn’t help.  I then asked myself, am I really going to spend all day sulking over the weather?  No!  I refuse to waste another day being a downer.  So I made a mental commitment to turn my frown upside down and to just be happy.  I would have hated to have spread my gloom to those around me.

As I sipped on my piping hot coffee, I reminded myself of what I was grateful for today, that cup of deliciousness being one of them, and slowly the negativity started to fade away.

I buckled down and got to work and before I knew it I was too busy to allow the dark skies to cloud my mood.  As the day progressed, the clouds outside slowly disappeared too.

Leave a Reply

