Retraining My Mind. Redirecting My Energy.

 

“Each of has to find his peace from within.” – Mahatma Gandhi

Scrolling through my phone, an imagine of a lighthouse in the sunset catches my eye.  Those words leap from the screen.

How unbelievably true, how perfectly timed.

For a few months now I have been experiencing anxiety at many different times, in varying degrees, caused by numerous triggers.

I originally tried avoiding the triggers, until I noticed almost everything could be a trigger if I allowed it to be.  The problem wasn’t with the outside world.  The problem was with my perception of events.  The problem was that I allowed myself to be worried.  I allowed my mind to wander and to fear the worst.  I allowed the fear to cloud my judgement, to cloud my ability to rationalize my thoughts.

I began understanding that if I was to come out of this victorious, I would have to re-train my mind to stop the worry the moment it began; to visualize it as a piece of paper, crumple it up and throw it away.

I am learning to redirect my energy into the good that I hope to accomplish, and into the peace I want to feel, instead of focusing it on what is stopping me.

This skill is not easy to acquire and I am still working on perfecting it with each passing day, but boy am I getting good at it!  I am noticing true progress from the beginning of the year to now.  I just have to keep on keepin’ on!  After all, practice makes perfect, right?

 

Leave a Reply

